Welcome, travelers.

9 Apr

Hey!  I’m so excited that you’re here!  I feel honored.  Welcome to The Church of What’s Happening Right Now!   I’m Liz and I’m the boss of this blog.

I chose the name for my blog from this really great conversation I had with my Aunt Dukes when I was a Fundamentalist (circa 2000).

We were in Germany at the time and we were in the middle of what would become known in family lore as “The Death March Across Western Europe.”  It was my friend (and future sister-in-law!) Heidi, my mom, my Aunt Dukes, and me.  My mom and Dukes were constant traveling companions and went every year to someplace wild and exciting to have adventures together.  They are total badasses when it comes to travel and have spent weeks living in Mongolian yurts, walking balance-beam style through Vietnamese rice paddies and engaging in some serious B&E in pursuit of their sightseeing goals.  Heidi and I were honored to have been asked along on this journey and we were trying our best to keep up.

When you picture our travels through Western Europe you’re no doubt picturing leisurely walks through museums, afternoons spend sipping cappuccino and snacking on pastries, and quaint little hotels.  Allow me to clarify – we jog/walked though ALL of the suggested sights that the veritable (and sadistic) Rick Steeves suggests, in addition to the Lonely Planet recommendations and any other possible place of interest listed in the plethora of guide books crammed in the bulging backpacks of our elder guides.  We did not stop to eat (they employ a “grab and go” philosophy when it comes to nourishment.  I imagine their journeys are even more productive now that the cliff bar is enjoying it’s moment in the sun), and they only stop to sleep and recreate from the hours of 11PM and 6AM during which you are also expected to take care of any personal business you may have (like using the bathroom or purchasing a bottle of water).  This time is also used to eat dinner and breakfast which are assembled out of foodstuffs picked up from whatever market is adjacent to the bunkroom style hostel where they will sleep with their passports tucked into their underpants.  Dinner and breakfast are eaten (again, what you’re picturing is inaccurate – speed it up by about half and add more gesticulation) sitting cross-legged on your bunk while pouring over a guidebook, making copious lists, and trying not to cut off your fingers with your swiss army knife.  I think it’s safe to say that we saw everything there was to see in our path and then some.  It was the summer before Heidi and I began college and I think the freshman 15 were a welcome addition.

Anyway, in a rare moment of simultaneous sitting and eating, I was trying to share the good news of Jesus Christ with my Aunt Dukes (who is Catholic, so I’m not really sure what I was up to there) and she said:  “you know, Lizzie, I’m a member of The Church of What’s Happening Right Now.”  At the time I thought, “oh dear”, but now I find myself thinking of that conversation all the time.  I keep finding it more and more beautiful and special (at least that’s what I find when I’m not busy feeling terrible about what a jerk I was).  I think what she meant is that she’s just doing what makes sense to her and living according to her experience.  I think she meant that she’s doing the best she can, so just fucking relax, would you please?  I think she meant that she finds all of the otherworldly stuff she needs right here and right now.  And I also think she meant that I was annoying the bejesus out of her.  Welcome to The Church of What’s Happening Right Now.  Let’s all take a note from the vast wisdom of my Aunt Dukes and just chill out, do the best we can, and find great and perfect things where we are right this second.  (But let’s also eat something once in a while for christsakes).

2 Responses to “Welcome, travelers.”

  1. Sarah-Ji April 10, 2010 at 1:22 am #

    Amen to that, sister!

  2. Ryan B April 10, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

    I’m thrilled about this blog!

Leave a Reply

