Dancing at the Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago

22 Apr

I remember visiting the MCA for the first time many years ago.  I think Nathan took me there for a very cool date.  I loved it so much.  In fact, it may have been the beginning of my infatuation with Chicago.  Contemporary art explodes my concept of what is possible (and then other times, it bores me into a zen-like meditation on what I’m going to eat once we leave and when that might be…..).  I love how open art can be – totally comfortable with it’s own processes and demands.  Materials:  yarn, paper, plastic bags.  I love the way that seeing materials in a new context shifts my view of those materials in other contexts.  More than anything, I love how brave it is/can be.

Anyway.  The MCA is a hulking shrine of legitimacy and never in my wildest dreams did I imagine that I would perform there.  But it happened, dear readers!  And just like everything else, it was totally different than I thought it would be.  It did not make me feel like I had finally “made it” (whatever that might mean).  I think I have (finally) come to the conclusion that this feeling is a chimera.  Success?  Whatever.

I was invited to participate in the Cabinet of Curiosities series, curated by InCUBATE.  My job was to create a 7 minute “un-lecture” on pragmatism.  So I wrote some stuff, Nathan recorded me reading it, and then I performed improvised movement.  I was really happy with the way the text/audio turned out.  I didn’t feel great about the dancing (I still haven’t figured out my post-pregnant body – there used to be a lot more muscles and my improv practice is different to say the least).  Full disclosure – I never feel good about any dancing I do.  It is a truly cursed thing to love making dances and to hate performing.

Anyway, here’s what I made.  I danced at the MCA – I still sort-of can’t believe it happened.

One Response to “Dancing at the Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago”

  1. Andrea April 25, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

    Liz- That was awesome. -A

Leave a Reply

